How to Implement LGBTQ Inclusive Curriculum: New Jersey Pilot Project

$20.00

Wednesday, April 28, 2021 at 4 pm EST/3 pm CST/1 pm PST
An informal virtual happy hour will follow this session for networking and socializing.

You will receive a confirmation email with the Zoom login information. Contact Emery Grant, Deputy Director emery@stonewall-museum.org or call direct line: 954-761-7774.

Description

How to Implement LGBTQ Inclusive Curriculum: New Jersey Pilot Project
Wednesday, April 28, 2021 at 4 pm EST/3 pm CST/1 pm PST
Ashley E. Chiappano, Garden State Equality/Make It Better for Youth

This workshop will assist public school educators (5th-12th grades) in creating robust LGBTQ inclusive lessons. This workshop will provide lessons and classroom materials that are aligned with Core Curriculum Content Standards and reflect diverse instruction. Lesson planning will include template outlines, guiding questions and a pedagogical framework that will assist educators in recognizing and celebrating the significant historic, economic and social contributions of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) individuals in the United States of America and beyond. Teachers will be able to review the LGBTQ-Inclusive lessons and work with the facilitator to align the lessons to their instructional plans. Pilot program research planning and implementation will be shared.