Changing the School Climate: Virtual support for LGBTQ+ students in your District

$20.00

Wednesday, March 31, 2021 at 4 pm EST/3 pm CST/1 pm PST
An informal virtual happy hour will follow this session for networking and socializing.

You will receive a confirmation email with the Zoom login information. Contact Emery Grant, Deputy Director emery@stonewall-museum.org or call direct line: 954-761-7774.

Description

Changing the School Climate: Virtual support for LGBTQ+ students in your District
Wednesday, March 31, 2021 at 4 pm EST/3 pm CST/1 pm PST
Valentina D’Alessandro, Out For Safe Schools Coordinator, Los Angeles LGBT Center Mahoganie Gaston, Coordinator, Support Services for LGBTQ Youth, Dallas ISD

Are you looking for practical tools to virtually support LGBTQ+ students? In this workshop, you can learn more about the Out for Safe Schools® campaign, a district-wide program that transforms school campuses into communities of support and safety for LGBTQ+ students. Learn about the local campaigns in Dallas and Los Angeles and their strategies for supporting LGBTQ+ students during the Covid-19 pandemic. Participants will learn effective techniques to reduce harm and increase inclusivity of LGBTQ+ students, creating safe spaces on school campuses and in remote and virtual school settings. This interactive workshop will provide best practices to support the unique needs of LGBTQ+ students that school officials can start using TOMORROW on their campuses.