Gender-Related Research: Critical Knowledge for Educators

$20.00

Wednesday, May 26, 2021 at 4 pm EST/3 pm CST/1 pm PST
An informal virtual happy hour will follow this session for networking and socializing.

You will receive a confirmation email with the Zoom login information. Contact Emery Grant, Deputy Director emery@stonewall-museum.org or call direct line: 954-761-7774.

Description

Gender-Related Research: Critical Knowledge for Educators
Wednesday, May 26, 2021 at 4 pm EST/3 pm CST/1 pm PST

Kim Westheimer, Gender Spectrum

Educators and advocates seeking to bring gender diversity into their school communities are frequently asked to justify the need for this inclusion. In this age of information overload, it can be challenging to assess the validity of gender related research that can appear in all kinds of settings from social-media to school board meetings. While not a comprehensive review of existing research, this session will help participants use research to better understand, frame, and respond to skeptics.  Topics covered will include desistance among transgender youth, attitudes about gender among different racial and ethnic groups, the impact of gender inclusive practices on cisgender students, and the ability of young kids to understand and talk about gender.